v. 21 – 2019


  • Ellen Arkbro (SW)
  • Cecilia Lopez (AR)
  • Tetuzi Akiyama (JP)
  • Toshimaru Nakamura (JP)
  • Zachary James Watkins (US)
  • Sound of the Mountain (CA)
  • Rusalka (CA)
  • Mira Martin-Gray (CA)
  • Chloe Alexandra Thompson (CA)
  • Matt Henderson (US)
  • VOR (CA)
  • Erik Tisu (CA)
  • Mariana Muñoz Gomez (CA)

Welcome to the twenty-first edition of send + receive: a festival of sound. As ever, send + receive celebrates the fields of sound art and experimental music, bridging the work of Canadian artists and their international peers in focused programs held throughout Winnipeg. 

While broadly conceived around the theme of feedback—acoustic, haptic, and dialogic—no remark could summarize the range and depth of this year’s artists and their respective approaches to sound. Several performers use audio feedback as an instrument, taking sonic measure of the spaces in which they appear and elevating the noise immanent to their materials. Others demonstrate a supple receptivity to their musical tools and fellow improvisers, on the model of a spontaneous communication. In every case something absolutely singular transpires before the ears, involving the listener in the social circuitry of live performance. 

It’s an honour to present these artists in Winnipeg, and to participate in the ongoing history of a series that has been such an important part of my listening life over the years. I hope to see you there.

Cam Scott

Individual concert tickets and full festival passes are available now.